I want to be okay with being alone

Browse our forums now - if you wish to talk to others you need to be a member. Simply follow this link, create a username and password, and you could be talking to others in our forums today!

Moderators: talkhealth, Geckoella

5 posts
strugglingfemale

by strugglingfemale on Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:02 pm

I want to be okay with being alone

this is my first time posting on something like this..and I must admit it's a bit nerve-racking trying to reach out to people I don't know, but hey I'm giving it a shot.

I'm stuck in a vicious cycle of wanting to be in a relationship. the feel of wanting to be loved by someone, of wanting to be there for someone, take care of them, to have someone listen to me when I'm down etc. being in the age where many of my colleagues are getting married, or parents looking for marriage for me (I'm Indian) it's making me feel apprehensive as if i'll be left alone for the rest of my life.

I have no pressure from my family, in fact they're my support, bringing me up, supporting me in my academic dreams, funding my education right now (i'm in medical school) and telling me to focus on myself and to love myself.. but I don't. I break down randomly wanting to go home. Ive been living away from home for 10 years now, and struggling to connect with people on an intellectual and emotional level. at first when i start chatting to someone, they're like head over heels on me. then we start talking and i feel like hey this may be the person... as soon as I ask (months into talking) about where this is going, they back away. i'm not here to play games. I make my intentions clear from the beginning and they seem to understand it.. but then why get scared about it? i give the person loads of time sometimes years.